Prize Giving Ceremony Essay

The Department of Modern History, Politics and International Relations awards prizes to undergraduate and postgraduate students every year to acknowledge their outstanding achievements. Most prizes are either sponsored by individuals or institutions who have close ties to the Department, or have been set up to remember and honour exceptional contributions made by former staff members in this department over the course of their careers.

See list of student awards/prizes

Prize Giving Ceremony

The 2014 MHPIR Prize Giving Ceremony was held on 21 April 2015 at W6A 107. The winners are:

  • Lillian Bender - Waratah Medal, awarded for the best essay in Australian History at undergraduate level
  • Caitlin Adams - Stephen Shortus Memorial Prize
  • Kim Adby - Aisling Society Prize
  • Peter Sadler - Harry Henderson Prize
  • Claire Phelps - Women's Pioneer Society of Australasia Prize
  • Paul Sherry - MJD Roberts Prize
  • Nathan Fallon - Jill Roe Prize
  • Saartje Tack - Bruce Mansfield Prize
  • Jennifer McLaren - Bruce Mansfield Prize
  • Emma Sarian - Irish Famine Memorial Prize
  • Kate Wright - Australian Federation of University Women New South Wales (North Shore Group Prize)

Here are some photos from the event:

Secondary School Essay Prize Prize Giving Ceremony 2017

On Thursday the 19th of October the School of Law hosted a prize giving ceremony for the UL School of Law Secondary School Essay Competition winners in the Moot Court room. There were five category winners and six honourable mentions. The five category winners and their essay categories were:

Title: ‘100 years since the 1916 proclamation and despite the aspirations of equality for all, Ireland is still a deeply unequal society’.

Winner: Jason Lenihan

School: Bishopstown Community School Cork

Title: ‘Article 41.2 of the Constitution on the women in the home demonstrates a lack of respect for women in Ireland.’

Winner: Ellen Lane

School: St Annes Community College

Title: ‘Should Surrogacy be Legally Permitted and Regulated in Ireland or should it be prohibited?’

Winner: Dylan Moloney

School: Colaiste Chiarain Summerhill Co Roscommon

Title: ‘Are the needs of victims of crime in Ireland today being met?’

Winner: Robert Powell

School: Colaiste Chiarain Summerhill Co Roscommon

Title: ‘Should a Person’s Previous Criminal Record Always be Available to Employers and Juries?’

Winner: Paul McManus

School: Colaiste Chiarain Summerhill Co Roscommon

Given the huge number and high calibre of entries the following students were selected for honourable mentions: Ciara Irwin, Laurel Hill Colaiste, Anna Mustata, Saoirse Brennan and Sean Fouhy, Bishopstown Community School Cork, Hugh Greaney, Limerick Tutorial College and Eoin O’Brien Colaiste Chiarain Summerhill Co Roscommon.

The prizes and certificates were presented by Head of the School of Law Professor Shane Kilcommins. The competition was organised by Laura Donnellan and the prize giving was organised by Dr Norah Burns. The 2017/2018 essay competition has now opened and information can be found at:

One thought on “Prize Giving Ceremony Essay

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *